Nominating Your Teacher Leader

Do you have an OUTSTANDING Teacher Leader you want to nominate?

How do I nominate them?
  • All Teacher Leaders must be nominated at the Area level first.
  • Students wanting to nominate their teacher leader or teacher leaders wanting to nominate their colleague for this prestigious award should submit a nomination letter to their area president teacher leader prior to or at the area conference.
  • The area president’s teacher leader will present all nomination letters to TAFE teacher leaders in attendance at the area conference.
  • Teacher leaders will vote on the area nominee by secret ballot.
  • Teacher leaders are eligible to win at the area level once every three years.

2023-2024 TAFE Teacher Leader of the Year

Carrie Swisher
John B. Connally High School
Area 3

Past Teacher Leaders of the Year

2013-2014 Tonya Monden, Lake Dallas High School
2014-2015 Angela Hollier, Aldine High School
2015-2016 Karen Kallas Birdville Center of Technology and Advanced Learning
2016-2017 Bobette Vroon, Crowley High School
2017-2018 Leah Zavala, Advanced Technology Complex
2018-2019 Nekeida Pierce, NYOS Charter School
2019-2020 Kimberly Smith, Timber Creek High School
2020-2021 Claudia Bell, Flower Mound High School
2021-2022 Shellie Massengale, Kaufman High School
2022-2023 Andrea Lotsu, Alief Taylor High School